how to mention a JIRA issue?

Hi,

I saw that Atlassian Support often mention othher JIRA issues in their issues. How do you do that? In the documentation I only found how to mention a user.

Thank you, best regards

12 answers

1 accepted

This widget could not be displayed.

Hi Davide,

Please put <ticket no.|URL of the ticket> in square braces  in the comments.

Let me know if this solves your purpose.

I don't think this is the most modern and efficient way to mention a JIRA issue in a comment.

Just writing the issue code is enough, JIRA recognizes it and makes a link of it. It will not create a full pledged issue link though.

Martin,

I tried the same way but it is displying link as a text.

I want to link other issue in a comment. 

Please suggest if you know any other way

In my previous company just typing the issue code into the comment created a shortcut with summary on hover, and also automatically created an issue link. This saved A LOT of time. I'm an admin on the jira instance in a new company and I don't see a way to set this up - was it broken with an update or something?

A plugin or a way to configure the desired behaviour would be great. Manually making a link is not a nice answer to this question.

I have the same experience as Chris.

I work in two different Jira instances - one from my own company and one from a customers company.

In my companys Jira I can write issue number i.e. "ABC-123" and I get a link to the issue and shows a status. See image below:

Link_To_Issue.png

I my customers Jira I get nothing of this.

I understand this is settings or a plug-in. Can someone help me how to set ut this in my customers Jira?

Richard, I updated with this comment #M242463 on how to get part of the behaviour I want. Make sure you use the wiki renderer as Francis suggests #M241346

Chris, I have checked and WIki render is used in both Comment and Description.