It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

One project, multiple boards?

Hi,

I am very new to Jira. I have perused the forum, but couldn't find  a definitive answer.

I have one large project that includes 2 dev teams (let's say Team A and Team B). They are working independently.

I want to be able to track their velocity separately, but still have everything on one page as I need to report up on the status on the project itself.

If I understood correctly, there are 2 ways of handling this:

- Have one board for the project, one backlog, stories have Components (Team A/B) and enable parallel sprints. Then filter per component/team.

- Have 2 boards for the project, 1 for Team A and 1 for Team B

Have I understood correctly? What are the downsides for each approach? Any other options?

Many thanks!

Jenny

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

Hi Jenny,

there are some few points to discuss on parallel sprint :

• this situation would be great if both team are using same backlog
  • velocity chart will not show velocity per team
  • this implementation assumes that the teams perform estimation separately which is unlikely in practice. 

I guess the key here is 'work independently' so I'd assume the estimation would be different. If that's the case, having different boards would be better

Thank you! I asked around and indeed, 2 boards seem the way to go.

Hello,

I have a similar issue and would like to use two boards.

Is there a key field I could use to direct the "issue" to the correct board.

All development is going to one team.  However, I have roadmap items that are managed separately from customer development/bug fixes.

I was hoping there is a way to direct the items to the correct board just based on how the issue was set up.

I appreciate any help you can provide.

Thanks!

Hi.