Automation is not recognizing a JSON value because the value includes a slash or a dash

Lexi Huefner May 2, 2023

I am setting up automation to create subtasks on tickets created from our service desk. I have to set a required cascading list field. All of my JSON is working except for the following: 

{
"fields": {
"access_type": { "value": "Google Workspace / GSuite (manual approval rqd)" }
}
}

{
"access_type": { "value": "iLMS - Inspired eLearning (manager approval)" }
}
}

For comparison this one does work: 

{
"access_type": { "value": "Active Directory (manual approval rqd)" }
}
}

I suspect it's related to the "-" and "/" in the ones that aren't working. I am new to JSON and I couldn't find anything to indicate I needed to escape out of those characters but maybe I'm wrong. I'm not sure where else to look. any help is appreciated!

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 2, 2023

Hi @Lexi Huefner 

Have you tried using the parent and child syntax for the cascading field, as described here: 

https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/advanced-field-editing-using-json/#Cascading-select-custom-field

Kind regards,
Bill

Lexi Huefner May 3, 2023

I did not try using "id" but I have used "value". That's what you see above. Do I need to include child? There is no child necessary for the parent field so I excluded that part. It worked on all of the other ones I created. Only these 2 aren't working. 

I'll try id and let you know. Thanks!

Like Bill Sheboy likes this
Lexi Huefner May 3, 2023

Do you know how I find the id for the option I need? I can only find articles on how to find the custom field id.

Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star