Automatically set custom field value based on user group

brian steele December 1, 2017

My company's development model uses "channels" to funnel in new features, enhancements and impediments from multiple business units.  Some examples would be a 'Sales' and 'Customer Support' channel. The problem is each channel has access to every project/product. I know this isn't ideal, but that's not my call. 

I would like to find a way to automatically set a custom channel field's (single selection list) value based on the user group that creates the issue. So if a user from the 'Sales' group creates an issue, the 'Channel' custom field would be set to 'Sales'. 

I'm not a programmer, so I'd prefer a way to implement this within JIRA's admin rather than some JS in a config file. That being said, if there is no way to do this with JIRA admin, I should be able to highjack a devs time if there's some sort of roadmap to follow for implementation. 

Thank you for any and all suggestions

1 answer

1 vote
brian steele December 1, 2017

Well, turns out you can do this as a post function from the create transition using custom user property values. 
JIRA allows you to add custom 'user properties' to each individual user. 

1. Choose  Admin Cog > Issues
  2. Select User Management > Select User.
  3. Select Actions > Edit Properties.
  4. Input desired property key (channel).
  5. Input the new properties value. Example: User is in sales channel, so the value of the new property is Sales
  6. Select the Add button. 

Now you can use that new property to create a post function on the 'create' transition. 

1. Click Edit for the workflow that has the transition you wish to configure the post-function on.
  2. In the Workflow Designer, select the transition.
  3. Click on Post Functions in the properties panel.
  4. Click on Add post function.