Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Pre-fill text in the comment field

Hello everybody,

Is it possible to re-fill the comment field with text in the workflow durig a transition?

I am a user and would like to have text already pre-filled as a guide or a template.

Best regards

1 answer

0 votes
Jack Brickey Community Leader Dec 14, 2021

Hi @Jira4Business , there isn’t a post function for Comment field. I am not understanding your use case of using the comment field as a “guide”. You might find the Automation would fit your need as you could certainly add a comment upon transitions.

Hi Jack,

Fictional example:

As an agent, I solve tickets with the transition "solution found". The transition is connected to a window where the agent can write a text in the Comment field on this connected window:

The use case is, the agent can fill out as a template

1. Which kind of service affected?

Network service

2. Has the customer confirmed the function?

Yes, by mail

3 ...

I hope it makes the requirement clearer.

Bes regards

Jack Brickey Community Leader Dec 14, 2021

So you are creating a form in the Comment and the agent edits the Comment? IMO, you should consider using custom fields for this. Also I know that integrated Proforma is being rolled out so I wonder if that is available and an option. I have not, as yet investigated this myself.

Hi Jack,

This is exactly what I need. Creating a form as template and use desired in the workflow.

Thanks we use Jira Core. So I need to develop custom fields with pre-filled text.

Suggest an answer

TAGS
Community showcase
Published in Jira

Do you use Jira Cloud with Microsoft Teams?