Automation - lookup issues that are Done

Levine February 1, 2023

I'm a JQL newbie and trying to modify an existing automation ("When the story point estimate for an issue is changed → sum up story point estimates in Epic") to update a field with the number of story points completed. 

To do this, I believe I have to update the Lookup issues function (parent={{triggerIssue.parent.key|"null"}}), but I have no idea how to only search for issues with Status = Done. 

I feel like this should be relatively straightforward, I'm just not familiar w/ this particular syntax.  Any thoughts?

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 1, 2023

Hi @Levine and welcome to the Community!

There is something strange about your use case. From what you describe, it seems you want to track the number of story points completed. But that seems something you would do when a story is actually completed, rather than after you update a story point estimate.

If I understand your use case correctly, I would rather automate it like this:

Screenshot 2023-02-02 at 07.30.19.png

In short:

• WHEN a story transitions to Done
  • Check if it has a parent epic
  • Then, for that Epic lookup all its child issues ("Epic link" = {{issue.key}} AND Status = Done
  • and update a field Story points completed in your epic using {{lookupIssues.Story Points.sum}}

In the example above, I used the Story Points field as an example. That's just because I don't have a specific field set up for points completed in my test instance. Definitely set up a different field for that.

Hope this helps!

Levine February 2, 2023