some features of JIRA Service desk

Hi there,

I'm a system analyst for a Hospital in the USA and I'm am assigned to evaluate the JIRA help Desk plugin. We as a team have been using another platform for tracking/creating projects but are considering of moving on to JIRA however we have the following questions.

Does JIRA have the following features available? Please answer yes or No.

1. Ability to accept service requests from customers email with attachments and auto create tickets
  2. Customizable workflow to accommodate our minimum processes (assignable to on call,  for peer review etc.)
  3. Ability to retrieve and search for issues and status of issues
  4. Email notification to CME when assigned an issue and email acknowledgement to requester 
  5. Email logic for auto assign to CME's based on domain  (Error log, lab bed, providers, unknown)

2 answers

Fortunately, the answers to all of your questions are yes!

1. Customers can open new issues by sending in an email, and those emails can have (but are not required to have) attachments.  The Service Desk portal also provides a friendly interface for customers to open issues, again with or without attachments.
  2. JIRA is very customizable, and you can set up very customized workflows for Service Desk issues to follow.
  3. The search capabilities in JIRA Service Desk are the same as in JIRA, and are very robust.
  4. When someone is assigned an issue, that person can get an email notification. If the requester must also get an email notification when an issue has been assigned to a technician, the easiest way to do that would be to move the issue into a new status called Assigned.
  5. Issues that are classified as being in certain domains can be automatically assigned to a particular technician.

Good luck!

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Sarah Schuster
Posted Jan 29, 2018 in Jira

What are common themes you've seen across successful & failed Jira Software implementations?