jira plugin gives 404 error in browser

suha awartani December 25, 2017

Hello, 

I'm new to JIRA and I was following this tutorial :

Create a HelloWorld plugin project

after using the command atlas-run I am supposed to be able to access JIRA via browser. 

but I can't, instead, I get  ( HTTP Status 404 - /jira/ ). Plus they mentioned in the tutorial that jira would be available on port 2990 but I've noticed that it uses a different port each time. 

I am using Atlassian SDK 6.2.9 and JDK 1.8.0_111.

2 answers

0 votes
Daniel Wester
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 30, 2017

You might want to ask this question over at community.developer.atlassian.com (more folks to help out). 

That said:

* when you stop JIRA - make sure the java process is dead (that’s probably why you’re cycling through ports)

* look at the JIRA log in the target folder and see if there’s anything in there that explains why JIRA isn’t starting up. 

0 votes
Alexey Matveev
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 25, 2017

Hello,

I think it means that something already uses the 2990 port that is why Jira tries to instantiate itself on another port. The port is written in the logs. Try to use the prot from the logs not from the tutorial

I just tried again, it starts on port 2990 and I get this on the cmd: 

[INFO] [talledLocalContainer] Tomcat 8.x started on port [2990]
[INFO] jira started successfully in 531s at http://suha:2990/jira
[INFO] Type Ctrl-D to shutdown gracefully
[INFO] Type Ctrl-C to exit

I copied the link and put it in the browser and I still get that 404 error. 

Alexey Matveev
Rising Star
Rising Star
December 25, 2017

Try