Unique custom field for Serial numbers

Robin Stemmers May 19, 2022

Hi All

So in many of the posts that I have read, people are looking to create a field that contains unique values.

And the answer seems to be NO all round.

In the cloud version, Unique numbers are created in the Key's - I mean, you cannot create 2 issues with the same key.

Also when you create a field with a choice option, you cannot create 2 same options for the drop down - there is some sort of validation

If the above two conditions currently exist in the platform, can the principle not be applied to other fields?

I am "spit-balling" here, but can't this be done?

PS:  I am no expert on coding.

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 19, 2022

> And the answer seems to be NO all round.

It's not a "no", it's a "Jira is not a good place to do it"

>Unique numbers are created in the Key's - I mean, you cannot create 2 issues with the same key.

True, but those keys are intended for Jira's uniqueness requirements, not some other arbitrary system that Jira knows nothing about.

>Also when you create a field with a choice option, you cannot create 2 same options for the drop down - there is some sort of validation

That's the whole point of select lists, to uniquely identify an item of data

>If the above two conditions currently exist in the platform, can the principle not be applied to other fields?

Yes, but Jira is the worst place to do it.

I've seen a few implementations of it, but it's mostly clumsy, non-scalable and pointless - no-one likes typing in a theoretically unique id, waiting for 30 seconds for it to check that there is no duplicate and then being told that it's not unique so you can't use it.

There's two recommendations I would make: