ScriptRunner Groovy Condition Question - Custom Field Is Not Null

MAG-II September 5, 2019

Hello - 

I believe what I am trying to achieve in a ScriptRunner post function should be fairly straight forward. I am trying to have an action trigger in the post function if the custom field is not null. The custom field type is a text field. So far I have:

issue.get("customfield_11203") != null

This does not seem to work for me. Obviously I am very new to Groovy as well as scripting in general. I would really appreciate if anyone could point me in the right direction. Thanks!

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Ilya Turov
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 6, 2019

You can use just

cfValues['My Field Name']?.value

if you are using a Simple scripted condition

edit: didn't see you are using it in a postfunction condition, but syntax is the same.

also, there should be "show examples" button below the script window, try looking at them

MAG-II September 6, 2019

Right - the "Show Examples" button is how I got to trying out:

The attached screen of your example is also giving me errors. The ScriptRunner version that I am running is 5.6.1.1-jira8. I apologize for not being up to speed with this, and I appreciate all of the patience.

User ID.PNG

Ilya Turov
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 6, 2019

what version of scriptrunner are you using?

Ilya Turov
Rising Star
Rising Star
September 6, 2019

I'm not sure they've changed the API that drastically, maybe try just 

cfValues['User ID']

guess your field is string type and it should be enough

MAG-II September 6, 2019