JIRA default Priorities

In JIRA 6.4 (I think) Atlassian changed the list of Default list of JIRA Priorities from Blocker, Critical, Major, Minor, Trivial etc. to Highest, Higher, Medium, Lower, Lowest. Our plan is to change to the new values, since our values have been tempered with in a strange way.

I have tried to find some writing around the rational  behind this change, since I consider Atlassian to deliver and change their Products, based on Best Practices.

My reason for asking is that in my Company, there are som User Groups that suggests other values and I want to bring the right ammunition to the table.

3 answers

0 votes

Atlassian didn't change the priority names. Are you sure one of your admins didn't change it?

The change was made in JIRA 6.4, however nothing is mentioned in the Release Notes.  

Your best bet would be to contact Atlassian Support and ask them for an explanation.

Suggest an answer

Log in or Join to answer
Community showcase
Sarah Schuster
Posted Jan 29, 2018 in Jira

What are common themes you've seen across successful & failed Jira Software implementations?

Hey everyone! My name is Sarah Schuster, and I'm a Customer Success Manager in Atlassian specializing in Jira Software Cloud. Over the next few weeks I will be posting discussion topics (8 total) to ...

3,129 views 13 19
Join discussion

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find my local user group

Unfortunately there are no AUG chapters near you at the moment.

Start an AUG

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local meet up. Learn more about AUGs

Groups near you
Atlassian Team Tour

Join us on the Team Tour

We're bringing product updates and pro tips on teamwork to ten cities around the world.

Save your spot