How to get an estimated finishing date for a set of tasks?

Sebastian Gingter March 23, 2012

Hi, I'm new to project management and perhaps my approach is wrong. First some facts:

• We have a small team
  • We have multiple Projects and their corresponding upcoming Major versions are planned to a certain date in Jira
  • Every team member works on several (2 to 4) projects

What I want to achieve is the following:

• Plan Tasks in Jira for a certain project version (Where can I set a task to be planned for a certain version)?
  • Assign Team working hours to the project, i.e. One guy working 30% on Project A, 60 Percent on Project B, 10% organizing himself, the other 20% on both A, 20% on B and 50% on Project C.

Now I want to have Jira or Greenhopper tell me based on the Estimates for each taks and the percentage of developer capacity assigned to a given project if the date that is planned for the given version is realistic or if I need to assign more time of a developer to a certain project.

Is this possible? Is this a wrong approach? What would be the solution most near to that? Thanks.

3 answers

0 votes
Jon Tatman
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
August 27, 2019

Can someone please provide the SPECIFIC way these values are determined, in the Version Report?

• Predicted completion date:11/Oct/19
  • Optimistic completion date:08/Oct/19
  • Pessimistic completion date:17/Oct/19

Thanks!

Jon Tatman
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
August 27, 2019
0 votes
Midori
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 4, 2013