How do we link a task to a story

John Houser December 10, 2021

Newbie here. 

I piloting Jira before adopting for a wider team, and have most of Jira figured out.

I have searched, and I have been unsuccessful finding out exactly what setting I need to change in order to link a TASK to a STORY.

I am looking to do this type of hierarchy:

jira hierarchy.jpg

And when I click on the three dots on the TASK and select Add Parent

add parent.jpg

I only get the option to add an Epic parent, not a Story parent.

epic only.jpg

Any help would be appreciated!  Thanks!

4 answers

1 accepted

9 votes
Answer accepted
Kristján Geir Mathiesen
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 10, 2021

Hi @John Houser  and welcome to the Community!

On the Story, you click on Link Issue and enter the issue key of the Task and choose the type of linkage you want it to be (Blocks, Relates to, ...). Or you can do the same on the Task but enter the Story key there.

HTH,
KGM

John Houser December 11, 2021

@Kristján Geir Mathiesen  - Thank you!

Yes, this is what we were looking for!

story link.jpg

Thank you again!

Like # people like this
Michael Figueras March 26, 2023

Thank you for this. I have been on different JIRA courses and this was not mentioned. Appreciate the help. 

Like # people like this
5 votes
Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 10, 2021

Hi @John Houser -- Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

Based upon your hierarchy example image, you may instead want to use the Jira issue types:

• Epic
    • Story
      • Sub-task