Conditionally set field value based on other field value on Create transition

Michael Johnson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 10, 2017

Hi,

I need some help with setting a field value conditionally on another field value.

Here's the scenario:

If value in Field A begins with an underscore set Field B to Yes else set Field B to No on the Create transition.

Is that possible? We have Scriptrunner but I'm not a coder so am in the dark.

Thanks, Michael J

1 answer

0 votes
Daniel Yelamos [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 11, 2017

Hello Michael.

Are these fields custom fields or not? It would change a bit the implementation of the code. If you give me a specific example of what you want I try my best to tell you how to do this.

Cheers

Michael Johnson
Rising Star
Rising Star
April 11, 2017

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for getting back to me. Field A is Components so not custom, Field B is a radio button custom field with values of Yes or No.

Best,

Michael J

Rising Star
Rising Star
April 11, 2017

Hello Michael

This is the solution to what you are looking for:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

import com.onresolve.jira.groovy.user.FieldBehaviours

import groovy.transform.BaseScript@BaseScript FieldBehaviours behaviours

import static com.atlassian.jira.issue.IssueFieldConstants.*def varCheck = getFieldById(COMPONENTS)def customFieldvalue = getFieldByName("custom_field")

def optionsManager = ComponentAccessor.getOptionsManager()

def customFieldManager = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager()

def customField = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObject(customFieldvalue.getFieldId())