Change due date of story/issue when epic due date changes, while keeping the difference in days.

Theresa June 10, 2024

This question has been asked, but I don't understand the answers. I'm new to Jira, and I'm trying to learn how to automate the change of my story/issue due dates when the epic due date changes. 

For example, if my epic's due date is August 31st and my story's due date is August 20th, how do I automate it so that if I change my epic's due date to August 29th, my story's due date will automatically change to August 18th? I got to the point where I edit the story/issue due dates when the epic due date changes, but I don't know how to add the delta between the dates. 

When value changes for due date

issue type equals epic

branch for stories (or other issues in Epic)

Then Edit issues fields due date

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 10, 2024

Hello @Theresa Monterroso 

Welcome to the Atlassian community.

In order to change the child issue by the same amount as the Epic was changed, you have to calculate the difference between what the Epic's original Due Date was and its new Due Date.

With the Field Value Changed trigger you can reference the fields original value with a special smart value

{{fieldChange.fromString}}

And you can reference the new value with

{{fieldChange.toString}}

https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/jira-automation-triggers/#Field-value-changed

https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/jira-smart-values-issues/#--fieldChange--

These are stored as strings. To convert them to dates you use the toDate function.

{{fieldChange.fromString.toDate}}

{{fieldChange.toString.toDate}}