Using Automation for Jira to create notifications about changes on project configuration

Hello Atlassian Community.

I'm Thiago Masutti and I work as a Premier Support at Atlassian helping Atlassian administrators with our on-prem products such as Jira and Confluence.

Working with product support we often get inquires about something that may not be an out-of-the-box feature of the product.
On these cases we are tasked to translate the use case to a feature request and let the customer know about an existing or a new issue JAC (jira.atlassian.com).

Sometimes we may share suggestions based on our experience on how to implement the wanted feature.

Atlassian products can be customized on a variety of ways and Automation for Jira is a great tool to extend Jira's feature set.

A request I recently worked on from a customer was related to notifications on Jira, which was in summary as below

Let's say you manage a Project with a group of administrators and all are entitled to make Project configuration changes without the need for approvals.

It would be great if Jira could advise, through a notification, Project administrators about the change that was applied.

Jira doesn't have by default in its notification scheme a way to advise when Project level configuration has changed.
This is reported as a feature request in JRASERVER-1984 - Notification of project events - and there was no suggested workaround for it.

With Automation for Jira (A4J) being bundled on Jira Data Center it has become an interesting tool to implement these types of workarounds, specially because Project Administrators might be able to manage Automation rules (depending on the instance configuration).

This post describes a way to help getting notified about Project configuration changes.

This shouldn't be considered as a recommendation from Atlassian (or Atlassian Support), but as a suggestion on how to use A4J to extend the current feature set of the product.