Jira Heroes: How Jira Admin Sue Wilson standardized the use of resolutions across projects

At Atlassian, we take great pride in the software we ship, and even greater pride in the success our customers achieve when they use our products. #JiraHeroes is our monthly spotlight series where we ask customers to share their success stories with Jira Software. We hope that customers will find inspiration on how to overcome their own challenges by hearing how our #JiraHeroes overcame theirs.

This month, we’re featuring Sue Wilson (@swilson), who noticed that a misunderstanding of resolution and done fields were affecting reporting and took steps to configure advanced workflow functionality to standardize the resolution process across teams. 

SueWilsonJira.001.jpeg

Sue Wilson: Jira and Confluence Cloud Admin

My name is Susan (Sue) Wilson.  I live in Pennsylvania, USA.  I have almost 15 years experience administering Atlassian products on both server and cloud platforms. Currently, I am a Jira Administrator at a software company called Visual Lease. They provide lease optimization software, empowering organizations to transform their lease accounting compliance requirements into financial opportunities.  In my current role, I also administer Jira Service Management & Confluence on the Cloud platform.

How a misunderstood resolution field led to a need for consistency

The Resolution field and process have been misunderstood and challenging to resolve at multiple organizations. For example:

1. Resolution was originally configured redundantly. While auditing existing workflows, I noticed a pattern of using Resolution at each status change.  For example, when development was done, the ticket was moved to testing and a Resolution was added using a workflow post function.

Then, when testing was complete and the ticket was ready for production, the Resolution was overwritten with a new value at status change.  Each change also updated the resolved date.