Introducing manual board clearing for your next-gen Kanban board!

Hi Atlassian Community!

My name is Ivan, and I’m a Product Manager on Jira Software Cloud.

Project admins are spending hours a week tracking their team’s work on their boards. End users use the board to update their work and need to visit it frequently.

We’ve heard from many of our users that having too many completed issues causes more clutter and increased their board’s load time, slowing their team’s agility.

In our continued effort to increase the performance and scale of next-gen projects, as well as provide admins with an easy and flexible customization option, we are launching the ability to clear Done issues at any time with manual board clearing.

Screen Shot 2020-06-19 at 5.12.25 PM.png

Not only will this prevent completed issues from piling up on the board, it also allows next-gen boards to load and perform faster overall.

• For project admins, you’ll have control over when completed issues disappear from your board.

• For teams, you’ll be able to focus on the work that matters most to your team.

manual_clearing.gif

How manual board clearing works in next-gen projects

Manual board clearing will be an exclusive feature for next-gen projects. This is for next-gen Kanban (sprint-disabled) projects, and you'll need to be an admin to use it.

We believe that giving you more control over when you clear issues will result in a more effective and high-performing team.

Clearing completed issues is a way of cleaning your board of work that is considered dev-complete, providing the focus required to optimise your team’s Kanban flow.

tenor.gif

• We decoupled board clearing from Releases/Versions, unlike in classic where they are coupled together, as the problems that they are trying to solve are different.

• Clearing these issues will also clear them from the board container in the backlog view, but not the Roadmap as the Roadmap tracks work at a level higher than the board.