Introducing Jira or JSD to a new environment

In a discussion thread about onboarding new users to JSD.  (Found here: A is for Activate: Share your top Jira Service Desk onboarding tips for new users!) We began to explore the ideas beyond just simple how-to guides and walk through tutorials, and move in to the realm of setup and design, and common framework of communicating about the products.  

In my work as an Atlassian administrator, I am often bringing the world of Jira to users outside of the development process, and to those unfamiliar with the toolset, it can be challenging to communicate why something may not be setup the way one expects or what problems a user is having with the product, without common language. 

Are they tickets?  Are they items? Are they cards? 
Oh, you mean the issue!  right, Jira calls the items issues. 
Oh, but they are records of the employees that are going through onboarding process. 
Yup! but it's easier to think of them as issues, since that is what you will click on in the menu to see all of them and filter for specific ones you want to see. 

Some times just getting everyone to settle in on the terms can cause the process to become daunting!  Then you get to items that I call "jiraisms".  Does this kind of conversation look familiar to any other experienced Admins? 

So I created a ticket (my internal brain translates to issue) and when I save the ticket (issue) not all of the fields show up. 
Do you mean you filled out all of the fields and there isn't anything showing up?   
No, I mean, I left some things blank, but I can't fill them out now. 
Ok, what happens when you select the edit button, are they on the form (...edit screen)? Yes!  but I saved and they disappeared again!!! 
It's ok,  Jira doesn't display custom fields that do not contain information.  It keeps the view clearer.