App Permissions in Next-gen projects

G'day Atlassian community!

My name is Abhinaya Sinha and I'm a product manager for Jira. I'm excited to announce that we have launched support for custom project permissions from Atlassian marketplace applications/add-ons to next-gen projects. You may be aware that earlier in the year, we had announced the launch of managing roles and permissions in next-gen projects. The capability we're announcing today extends next-gen permissions and roles beyond Jira-provided project permissions to marketplace applications'/addons'-provided permissions. It makes roles in next-gen projects even more powerful and extensible. 

What are custom project permissions? 

Custom project permissions are permissions scoped to a project and are typically added by marketplace applications/add-ons. Apps use such permissions to make Jira more extensible and powerful, and we're pleased that next-gen projects can leverage this capability now. To give an example of such extensibility, consider an app such as Tempo Timesheets. It provides permissions such as "view all worklogs", "log work for others", "set billable hours", and "view issue hours". Each of these permissions serves a distinct purpose. For instance, "set billable hours" allows customers to control the use of billable hours in Tempo, so they can track them independently of the actual worked hoursBy supporting such permissions in next-gen projects, we extend the functionality of a next-gen project to capabilities provided by marketplace applications and add-ons. Any Atlassian marketplace connect application installed on your Jira instance that specifies project permissions in its app descriptor is now available for use in next-gen. Some other applications that provide project permissions include Issue Checklist Pro, Deep Clone for Jira, among others.