how to convert excel sheet to jira items

ardian.krivca June 14, 2022

I have an existing "initiative" (i.e. initiative-123). I need to convert an excel sheet (over 500 rows) into this initiative (not sure if I want child issues or subtasks), I am no jira expert.

how do I convert all these excel records and upload them under my initative-123? I came across this link Import data from a CSV file | Atlassian Support but does it apply to uploading to an initiative or does it not matter?

Thank you 

3 answers

2 votes
Alex Ortiz
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 15, 2022

@ardian.krivca 

You have a couple options here.

First, you can do what @Yash Raj recommended which is prepare a CSV file with the appropriate linking and then do the bulk import.  Please keep in mind that you'll need to be a site admin to import.  If this is tricky, I have a second option for you.

Import all the issues (I'm pretty sure they need to be Epics, but not sure since I don't know how you have your Issue hierarchy set up).  When you are preparing your csv (excel) file, make sure you add a label so that you can quickly look up your 500 issues after you import them.  Once they are all imported, search for your label and it should return your 500 issues.  From there, go to bulk edit and edit the issues. You are going to want to add a parent link to the issues which will be the key for your initiative.  

I have a video briefly explaining this.  You'll want to start at around the 36 minute mark:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51-LxSMioOE&t=4s. Hope it helps! 

ardian.krivca June 17, 2022

1. Just watched your video, I feel like a celebrity :) 

2. very good point about adding a label, I will try to add that in my upload.

Thank you

Alex Ortiz
Rising Star
Rising Star