Why can't I archive a project?

Mitzy Jaimes October 15, 2018

I am a site administrator and I want to archive the projects we are not using anymore. I Go to  > Projects, click on the dots button of the project and I can only see a project settings option. 

7 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 24, 2019

Hi Everyone,

Looks like there is still confusion on this topic.   I will try to explain.   Starting with Jira Software Data Center 7.10.0 (and Jira Service Desk Data Center 3.13), it became possible to archive projects in Jira natively.  Please see Jira Software 7.10 release notes: Project archiving (data center) for details.

The key detail here is that this feature is specific to data center licensed deployments only.  This is not something that you can do with a Jira Server license type.

This feature was rolled out to help address performance issues in Jira, specifically the need for Jira to index and reindex data in projects that you might want to keep data for, but that you know won't be updated.   In cases like that, the Data Center deployments would clearly benefit from this feature the most.  That said there is still an existing feature request for this feature to come to Server license types as well in JRASERVER-67413.

What can also add to this confusion is that there is also an older KB for Jira that discusses archiving a project in https://confluence.atlassian.com/jirakb/archiving-a-project-in-jira-server-950287459.html I will look to add a note on this KB to help avoid confusion on this topic.