Unable to turn off viewing issues in sidebar

sherry.ford September 3, 2020

I am new to Jira, and playing around with the settings I turned on "View Issues in Sidebar".  I've actually determined that I really don't like that view and would prefer to see them in a popup/popout or in the middle of the screen (how it was before I clicked that button).

But I cannot find anyway to turn the sidebar view off.  I have tried searching through project settings, board settings, configuring pages etc. but still cannot seem to find a way to revert the view.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Stephen Wright _Elabor8_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 3, 2020

Hi @sherry.ford 

Was this on a Board? Where you chose an issue and it was a pop-up in the middle, but is now a side-bar on the right-hand side?

If yes, to change this back:

1. Go to your Board
  2. In the top-right, press the 3-dots icon
  3. Select "Open Issues in Dialog"

^ Should change this setting back!

If this isn't what you meant, please let us know which setting this is :) - a screenshot would be ideal!

Ste

sherry.ford September 4, 2020

Hi,

Thank you for your response.  Yes it was on the board - but I can't seem to see the option for "Open Issues in Dialog" box.

2020-09-04_23-42-28.png

Callum Carlile _Automation Consultants_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 4, 2020

@sherry.ford It looks as though you are currently on the Backlog, rather than the board. If you look on the side panel on the left and click on 'Active Sprints' it will take you to the board, and then repeat the above steps to change the default view back to 'Open issues in Dialog' :)

sherry.ford September 5, 2020