Jira won't find anybody when adding permissions

Jim Strange September 27, 2019

So I'm a site admin on our Jira cloud instance. There's nothing I can't do, on any project.

Or so I thought. Because today, I created a new project, and when I went to allocate permissions in the project settings, Jira is refusing to match any users or groups. I've been through every letter of the alphabet and it keeps telling me that "we can't find that person on {company}.atlassian.net."

So I went to some other projects, and I'm getting the same results. Other admins in my organisation can do this just fine, it's just me for some reason.

Can anybody offer a clue as to what's wrong?

1 answer

0 votes
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 27, 2019

Hey Jim,

My first thought is that being a site admin is not the same as being a Jira Admin or Systems Admin. Site admin lets you add people to groups and generally manage users and groups - but not alter schemes, like the permission scheme. 

Also, not exactly sure what you mean when you say allocate permission in the project settings - are you doing it with the People option? Or with the Permission Scheme? 

In the Permission scheme - who has privileges to Browse Project? 

Jim Strange September 27, 2019

Hi John,

I'm not trying to change the permission scheme, I just want to add already-defined groups to the project settings, against the existing project roles. I'm not trying to add specific people or groups to the permission scheme - although I have done this before so I know it's not an access problem.

I'm also able to add issue types, workflows and schemes, and all that good stuff - but today Jira won't acknowledge the existence of any user or groups.