JIRA- Comments create from email not working

Sunny Solanki July 8, 2019

Hi Gurus, 

I am new to Jira and it's integration with Outlook to generate ticket through inbound email.

I went through following setup link for creating issue and comments from email: https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver073/creating-issues-and-comments-from-email-861253784.html#Creatingissuesandcommentsfromemail-Createanewissueoraddacommenttoanexistingissue

Inbound email, creating a new ticket under the defined project, however, when I reply to email notification or appending (Jira Key like ABC-123) prepending to the subject not appending any comment to that ticket. 

I have following setup under mail handler for default cloud mail server.  

pic1.PNG

I see some blog talking about looking at the Jira log, however, the web version of JIRA is little different so need help. 

Any thoughts or help? 

1 answer

1 vote
Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 10, 2019

Hello, Sunny.

Welcome to Atlassian community.

I saw you mentioned a JIRA Server documentation in your description, which is kind of similar to the Cloud one although it has some differences.

Just to ensure we are on the same page here, I would like to provide you with the correct documentation to know how you can create issues or comments through E-mail in JIRA Cloud:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiracloud/creating-issues-and-comments-from-email-779288896.html

That been said, please perform the following troubleshooting steps to check why the comments are not being added:

1 - The e-mail address creating the issue is added as a user to your JIRA Cloud? If it is, the user who is sending the comment must have the permission to properly comment on the issue. You can use the permission Helper under project settings > Permissions to confirm if the user has the proper permissions.