How to remove team member from JIRA SOFTWARE[FREE]

Arjun Misra November 4, 2020

Hey --

I have project and we are using Jira Software. I temporarly added two members to view the board. I would like to remove them now but I can not seem to remove them. I only can add people. I am an administrator on the project but since it is a free version all members are admins.

Is there an option I am missing? How do I remove them from the project?

Thank you! 

2 answers

0 votes
colin_j_connelly March 23, 2023

I have to agree with Nick.  An inability to remove someone from a project or even change a user is something that would have impacted my decision to recommend this product if I had known about it.  I work in governments in countries with extremely low budgets and no access to a credit card.  Any software with recurring costs simply does not get the invoice paid on the second payment.  This product was helpful as a free tool but this limitation in the environments I work in will have me looking for alternatives.  Forcing someone to start an entirely new project to change a user is absurd, assuming that is even possible using the existing email addresses.

John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 23, 2023

It’s like any other software, you have to pay for full features. You can’t expect a free piece of software to do everything you want it to do. You can make the user an active and they will not have access to the project.

Nick Nifadeff March 23, 2023

How can removing a new user within the user cap be a feature?

It's clearly a bug, a negligence, a dont-give-a-shit attitude. Feature could be adding AND removing a user.

If Atlassian feels too stingy to give a usable access for free to its products, remove this free tier plan. But don't call this basic functionality "a feature".

Like # people like this