How do I keep our In Progress and Done Tasks to keep from vanishing from the board?

Robert November 28, 2021

I am very new to Jira and like the Board a lot. We have set up Tasks and as they get up for work they go into our "In Progress" column on the board, and then when they are done we move them to the "Done" column. Pretty simple and very useful. But anything that sits in the In Progress or Done column for more than a week or two vanishes from the board. We really want to keep them around until we manually delete them so that we can see the history even if it takes longer to finish a task then we thought it would. We want the Tasks that are moved to Done to stay forever to provide a history. I guess when we close out an Epic we could delete them, but I might even want to leave them around for a year or so as a history for the project. How do I configure Jira to leave Tasks in columns until they are manually deleted? I can not seem to find a way to do that. Thanks in advance for any and all help and suggestions. 

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 29, 2021

Hello @Robert 

Welcome to the community.

Are you working with a Team Managed project or a Company Managed project? It will say at the bottom of the navigation pane on the left.

Are you working with a Software, Service Management, or Business (Work Management) project? It will say at the top of the navigation pane on the left, below the project name.

Are you working with a Scrum board where the board displays issues that are in "Active Sprints" or a Kanban board where all issues are displayed?