Epic children are hidden within Epics on Team Board

Kelly Donovan March 25, 2021

Hi there, 

I am new to Jira Cloud. When I add stories to an Epic, they appear how I would expect when I am actually on the Project Board. In the Backlog, you see the Story and it adds the coloured Epic label.

We have a team board that is pulling in stories from different projects based on a filter. Instead of the Epic child story appearing on its own in the board Backlog with the label, it is only contained *within* the Epic itself and you can't find the story until you click on the Epic. 

What I see on team board - this Child Issue is the only place I can find VACAD-20:

Screenshot at Mar 25 12-29-22.png
What I see on project Backlog (what I want to see!) 
Screenshot at Mar 25 12-30-21.png

How can  I configure the board so Epic children are not hidden within Epics? 

3 answers

1 vote
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 25, 2021

Hello @Kelly Donovan 

Is the VACAD project a Classic project or a Next Gen project?

If your board is pulling from multiple projects, then it will show only the issues that are within the scope of its filter. Is the filter for that board constructed in such a way that it is pulling in both epics and stories? Can you share the filter with us?

Is it a Scrum Board or a Kanban board? Can you share an image of the board with us?

If it is a Kanban board and you have the Backlog feature turned on, then the issue will not appear in the Board view until you have changed the issue's status to one that is mapped to a column on your board.

If it is a Scrum board, the issue will not appear on the Board view until you add it to a sprint and start that sprint, as Scrum boards show only the issues contained in Active sprints.

0 votes
Jeremy White January 5, 2022