Deep Clone multiple copies of one epic

Amanda Lee March 11, 2021

Hi All, I'm very new to Jira so thanks for your patience here.

I have downloaded the Deep Clone add on which is wonderful as we have numerous jobs with the same requirements so it's great to not have to retype all subtasks and bugs for every job. 

However, rather than cloning one project at a time, I was hoping to find a way to clone numerous copies (say 20 or 50) of the one epic (with it's subtasks) in one shot.

Is this possible? Are there better ways to be setting up large numbers of identical jobs?

Thanks!

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 12, 2021

Hi Amanda - Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

Yes, you should be able to do that. When you are in an Epic and select Deep Clone, you will get a pop-up like this:

screenshot.png

So as you see, you can clone the Epic and all of the children. 

Amanda Lee March 14, 2021

Hi John, thanks for that. I have figured that part out, however my query was relating to whether it is possible to make numerous copies of that deep clone at once. For example:

Epic Example

* Subtask example 1

*Subtask example 2

Following the deep clone (epic clone) process to end up with:

CLONE1 Epic Example

*CLONE1 Subtask example 1

*CLONE1 Subtask example 2

CLONE2 Epic Example

*CLONE2 Subtask example 1

*CLONE2 Subtask example 2

CLONE3 Epic Example

*CLONE3 Subtask example 1

*CLONE3 Subtask example 2

Does that make a bit more sense?

Thanks!

Amanda Lee March 14, 2021

I found this information relating to cloning an issue multiple times:

https://documentation.codefortynine.com/deep-clone-for-jira/Clone-issue-multiple-times.27656193.html

That is what I am hoping to achieve, but it appears you can only do this with a Single Clone, not an Epic Clone?