Can we change a custom field created from "Text field" to "Select List"

Akil Official January 3, 2023

Hi Team,

I am a Jira Admin. I would like to know if it is possible to change a custom field that is created as text field earlier into an select list type. If possible, can you let me know how to do that. 

Thanks

Akil

2 answers

2 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Alex Koxaras _Relational_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 3, 2023

Hi @Akil Official 

Unfortunately you can't change it. What you can do is to create a new field and then copy the values from all issues of the old field, to the new field.

Akil Official January 4, 2023

Hey @Alex Koxaras _Relational_ i created a new field as select list. But how can i copy those values from all the issues of the old field..can you please help me with that?

Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 4, 2023

@Akil Official you can create a self transition on your workflow(s) and the add a post function to copy the fields. For this action you might need an app such as JMWE, JWT, JSU

ok @Alex Koxaras _Relational_ . I am not sure if i will be able to get that apps as this JIRA is  customised specifically for our client. I tried looking at JIRA automation but i couldnt find thta option available in my project settings either.

Community Leader
Community Leader
January 4, 2023

@Akil Official self transition is a part of a workflow, not Jira automation. You could also do this with Jira automation. In this case

• Add a manual trigger
  • User a lookupissue component and find all issues you want to copy the field
  • Add a branch rule for the lookup issues