Add "Original Estimate" to my projects

Maranda Forney July 14, 2020

I am new to Jira and I have taken over managing existing projects in Jira from someone else.  I'm not sure how the projects were created but I noticed I was able to add the "Original Estimate" field to Project A by going into "Project settings"-->"Issue Type" and drag "Original Estimate" from the bottom right to the "Context" section.  However for Project B when I follow the same path, there is no "Original Estimate" field to drag over.  When I go to "Issues"-->"Customer fields"-->"Create Custom" field and create "Original Estimate" using the "Number field" and associate with the respective screens, I am still not able to see the field.  Can you provide guidance?

1 answer

0 votes
Sachin
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 14, 2020

Hello @Maranda Forney , I am not sure how you managed to add "original estimate" field from project settings --> Issue type. But, to enable original estimate field on your board, you need to goto active sprints ... --> board settings --> estimation --> choose Original Estimate Time as your Estimation Statistic --> Back to board. This should Add original estimate on to your projects. Also, it's important to note that if you are on a Kanban board you won't see the same setting.

See Configuring time tracking for detailed explanation.

@Sachin Thank you so much for responding!  I went to the active sprint and on the left panel three is only "Project Settings"...am I looking in the wrong place?

Sachin
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 14, 2020