Recognition

• Give kudos
  • My kudos

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage
Highlighted

Which is best? Multiple projects with 1 release or 1 project with multiple releases?

So I'm a Jira admin, helping advise different departments on their Jira implementation. In keeping with Agile principles I'm happy for teams to organically find workflows that work for them and customise accordingly. Recently, one team got started with Jira and opened up an interesting discussion.

Is it better to create separate projects for each release, or separate releases within each project?

My gut feeling is to just set the fix version for each release, and create a 'release' when finished but the team wanted to go for separate projects for each release, stating the following reasons...

• They don't want to see any of the issues from previous releases - Those issues are either moved to the next project, or to a separate project of 'live issues'
  • When using the quick search links 'open issues' etc, it would otherwise include things not in scope for the release.

Thoughts?

2 comments

@Craig Baillie 

Definitely in this case 1 project with multiple releases makes sense. This why fix versions are there in Jira.

I think it is more of a case of training the users about filters, issue navigator, dashboards and reports. Since you mentioned agile. Also educating them on using epics, labels, boards with relevant issues only and utilising these capabilities to the fullest of Jira.

Ravi

Like # people like this

I concur with @Ravi Sagar _Adaptavist_