Start planning at scale with just a few clicks with the new Top-level planning template

Hi everyone,

I’m a Product Manager for Jira Software Premium edition. I’m here to announce that we shipped a new template to help customers start planning at scale. The feature is rolling out the week of July 24th.

The Top-level planning template is designed to help customers with existing Jira Software data create a high-level overview of their organization’s work by:

• creating a pre-configured project with an issue hierarchy level above Epic called Initiative
  • creating a pre-configured plan with the above project as the issue source. The plan is the best place to create, plan, and track the initiatives you'd create.

• demonstrating how to connect existing epics to your newly-created initiatives

On this page, we’ll go into detail about how this template helps customers get started with planning and tracking work above the epic level faster, and where you can find this new feature.

Screenshot 2023-07-05 at 9.40.37 AM (1).png

Where is this new template?

If you’d rather just explore it yourself, here’s how to find this new feature in Jira Software Premium:

1. From anywhere in Jira Software, select Projects > Create project from the top menu.

2. In the Software development tab on the left (which is the default tab), select the Top-level planning template.

Don’t have Jira Software Premium? No problem you can try it for free right now! 

Screenshot 2023-07-03 at 3.00.06 PM.png

Introducing Initiatives

image-20230709-232126.png

One of the most powerful features of Jira Software Premium that helps organizations plan at scale is the ability to create and manage issues at hierarchy levels above Epic in Advanced Roadmaps. By default, this level is called Initiative, though you can change this later to match your organization’s structure. Learn more about configuring hierarchy levels in Advanced Roadmaps.