Implementing Jira in Small Business

Introduction

This article will give insight on how a small software development department implemented Atlassian products to enhance and streamline the business process. The privately held company has 35 + years’ experience across a broad range of industries and organizations, with a focus in Accounts Payable & Medical Claims. The software development team was created in early 2015, mainly due to the volume of incoming projects and data exponentially outpacing our existing architecture. The company develops quality solutions, using cutting-edge technology working in a micro-service environment. I graduated with a B.B.A. in Information Technology Management and joined the team in 2016. Jira Software, Jira Service Desk and Confluence were products installed but rarely used as part of the process. After a few weeks of analyzing the existing business process, areas for improvement were uncovered.

• Software development had little documentation.
  • Solutions were communicated via email. There was no formal process for technical write-ups, process documentation or status updates.
  • Software deployments, issues and incidents were communicated verbally or by email.
  • Procedural documentation was decentralized across the network and difficult to locate in a timely manner.

Implementation of Atlassian products improved efficiencies within the departments, the business and directly affected my role within the company.

Our Software Development Process