Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing Sub-tasks for Employee Requests (New Hires, Terminations)

Joe Lawry
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
June 7, 2021

Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to Jira, so forgive me for asking such basic questions. My company has an IT service desk-style project in Jira through which tickets and requests are handled. Two of those requests are New Hires and Terminations that are submitted by our HR department.

In the past, a former teammate of ours modified Employee requests so that unique sub-tasks are generated for both New Hires and Terminations. These are obviously different based on whether it is a hiring or termination, but the sub-tasks that are associated with each request type are always the same.

My question is this: where would I go to add, remove, or modify the type of sub-tasks that are created for these requests? I'm not very familiar with the different types of objects in Jira (workflows, schemas, etc.), so I honestly don't know where to look. Would I need to modify settings on a global (i.e. system-wide) scale, or the IT service desk project itself?

Thank you for your help!

3 answers

1 vote
Stepan Fedortsiv_SaaSJet August 18, 2021

Hi @Joe Lawry 
Check the Automation rules first of all.

Open both of the sub-tasks that have been automatically created. On the right bar, check the Automation tab and check the names of Automations that triggered those Issues.

Then

Go to Project settings -> Automation (if it's Company managed project type) and check the conditions of this Automation rule. Most likely, you will need to check the condition a bit.

There are if/else logic, so it's quite simple.

---

Let me also suggest you the tool we recently released for the purposes you mentioned - Business Process Manager. I'm a Product Manager of this Add-on.