Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Preventing the attachment of duplicate images from emails to the issue screen in JSM

Hello Community,

My name is Manpreet, and I’m a Product Manager for JSM Cloud.

Today, I am thrilled to announce an enhanced experience in how Jira Service Management handles images received via email.

We’ve observed that many a time repeated emails contain assets such as the company logo, social media icons of the company in the sender's signature. These images in ongoing communication between help seekers and agents via email causes clutter on ‘Attachments’ section, making it difficult for assignee to find relevant files for issue resolution. This is how the Attachments section looks like after few conversations on the ticket:

Screenshot 2023-10-03 at 2.14.24 PM.png

What's been Improved?

The overwhelming amount of redundant attachments motivated us to create a filtering systems to prevent repeated images get attached in issue screen and maintain a clean and organized workspace within JSM.

With the improvement, any image received via email and is a duplicate in an issue will not populate in 'Attachments' section again. To avoid any data loss, the image will remain a part of the comments. If i take the above example again, the image will be attached only once as shown below:

Screenshot 2023-10-03 at 2.15.46 PM.png

Another scenario where this enhancement proves beneficial is when JSM employs connections with third-party software or marketplace applications. We've noticed that duplicated images are also transferred to these integrated systems (such as Microsoft Teams), which slows down their operation and causes significant frustration. With the proposed solution, the influx of duplicated images to the integrated systems will be prevented, thus increasing their efficiency.

Release Update