E.L. Fridge's take on education, Jira Service Desk, and creative Jira use cases

fridgeforreal.jpg

E.L. Fridge is a Web Applications Engineer and Adjunct Instructor at the University of West Florida. His comment about how his team helps departments across campus get set up with Atlassian products on the Education kick-off and configuration thread caught our eye, so we reached out to learn more. Enjoy!  

In a few sentences, describe the career path that led you to be an Atlassian admin at your the University of West Florida?

I am a software engineer by training, and I started using Jira with another co-worker back in 2011 to help develop a web portal for the university. It worked very well for that, and we started using Jira for more projects in our department over time. I attended Atlassian Summit in 2013 and got the training to help organize all the projects that were popping up. I am now the primary functional admin for our Atlassian suite, but I work with a team of other functional and server admins to share the load. We now manage server installations of Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket Server, and Bamboo. We are also extensive users of HipChat and are looking forward to migrating to Stride when that time comes. 

UWF.png

Can you speak more about bringing in Jira Service Desk and how it has been expanding to new teams? What service desk were you using before Jira Service Desk, what were the deciding factors to go with Jira Service Desk? 

I was at Summit 2013 when Jira Service Desk 1.0 was first announced, and I was very excited about it because I saw the potential for Jira to expand past our software development circle.