How can create custom incident level categories for users to select when submitting a ticket? Edited

This is regarding JIRA Service Desk software. Our current customer SLAs requires for users to be able to mark the urgency level of their ticket (ex. Severity Level 1, 2, 3 and 4). Is there a way I can create a custom urgency level field? It would be very similar to the priority field (Block, High, Medium, Low, Minor) JIRA offers but with different selectable language. 

If it is possible, is there a way to link SLA goals to that custom field?



1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Accepted answer

Hi @Efren Sandi,

Just to clarify, do you want to use a custom field known as Severity, which has similar function to the Priority field in that you select which option suits the issue best, and you want to be able to customise the options depending project? 

If so, then you could set up a custom field context without having to create another custom field. 

Also, yes you can set up SLAs with any JQL query. I have done this myself using a Priority Field, a different context and SLA rules that were easy to customise to my needs.


I hope I have not misunderstood your requirements.

Hi Danny,

This is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you so much for the info.



Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Community showcase
Posted Tuesday in Statuspage

Introducing Statuspage Getting Started guides! First up: What is Statuspage?

Over the next several weeks we'll be sharing some of our Getting Started guides here in the community. Throughout this series of posts, we'd love to hear from customers and non-customers ab...

230 views 4 1
Join discussion

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find my local user group

Unfortunately there are no AUG chapters near you at the moment.

Start an AUG

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local meet up. Learn more about AUGs

Groups near you