Need help with JQL: Looking for a list of Stories where only bugs have been linked to

Diana Leon December 3, 2021

I need help with JQL. I am not a programmer. I do not have access to the backend to configure JIRA. 

I am looking for a way to pull Stories with linked Bugs only. 

sample: project = <my project> AND issuetype = Story AND status = Accepted

I have a column Links, however, it shows me everything that is linked but I only want to get a list with bugs. 

If there is no way to do this with JQL filter, can it be done in Project Automation where it can send the report with all Stories linked to bugs once a week? 

Thank you!

Diana 

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Robert Wen_ReleaseTEAM_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 3, 2021

Hello @Diana Leon !

The closest I can come to what you want is this (using OOTB JQL):

project = <my project> AND issue type = Story AND issueLinkType = "is blocked by"

This will only work if you consistently set up this link relationship to your Bugs.  If not, the following variation may help:

project = <my project> AND issue type = Story AND issueLinkType in ( "is blocked by", <other link relationships>)

Hi Robert. Let me try your solution. Thank you!

However, it will pull everything and not just bugs. 

Robert Wen_ReleaseTEAM_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 3, 2021

Diana,

You are correct.  it will pull all issues of any type that has that link relationship.

@Joseph Hani may have the better solution, but it will require an app like ScriptRunner.

Like Diana Leon likes this