How to keep few sub-tasks names same (of our choice) under a parent task?

Kaushik Patel September 5, 2022

I want to keep few sub-tasks names same under a parent-task. Not same as parent task, but different title than parent task. Also, not all sub-tasks should have same exact title.

I have ScriptRunner Server version. I am using JIRA 8.5.1 Server version.

I am a newbie in coding. Hence, I would need query which I can run using ScriptRunner console or wherever in JIRA.

Example: A parent task has 50 sub-tasks. Out of these 50 sub-tasks, the query should allow me to mention comma separated IDs of sub-tasks for which I want to keep title as "Test-123".

The query should only impact title of the sub-tasks mentioned in the query and rest sub-tasks titles should be intact.

How can I achieve this?

Thanks,

Kaushik.

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 5, 2022

I am not sure what you are trying to do here.

Sub-tasks have a single parent issue, they are a part of that one issue.  It's nonsense to pretend that they are a part of two separate issues.  So there's no logical way to do what you describe.

Kaushik Patel September 6, 2022

Hi @Nic Brough -Adaptavist- All I want is few of the sub-tasks to have same titles (not necessarily same as parent one). I am not saying sub-tasks are part of two separate issues (or parent tasks).

As mentioned in my example, the parent task will be same, but in that parent task, I want several sub-tasks having same title. I hope this clarifies.

Thanks,

Kaushik.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 6, 2022