Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Under this situation whose Butler Quota is being used.

I would simulated this to get an answer but I ran out of quota. 

1. Person A created a board and with a set of Butler commands. 
2. Person A invite person B to join the board and made him Admin

3. Person A left the board and team leaving Person B there. My understanding is that the Butler commands will still run but Person B cannot modify them. 
4. At this point whose Butler quota would be used? Assume none of the action is member specific. 

ps I am hope that the answer is Person B. 

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Felix Atlassian Team Jan 29, 2021

If Person A leaves the board & team, their rules, due date and scheduled commands will no longer run.

The shared card and board buttons on that board would still be available, and they would draw from the quota of the user clicking the button.

All of this only applies to boards in Free (non-paid) Teams. In paid teams, the quota is pooled per-team, and users draw from that pooled quota, not their personal quota.


See also


Point 3 was based on 

@Soumyadeep Mandal  reply

what I notice is that you are specifically spelt out what cannot run esp rules. I need to reconcile this. If they cannot run then there is no question about quota used. You are also specific on what will run. Question : will shared card and button usage always count to the individual?

Frankly, I am trying to get answers based on the free plans since the entitlements are much less. 


It does sound like simplest way around this especially for small budget teams, regardless of the subscribed plan, is to  treat  Person A more like a bot and hand down the account instead. 😎

Like Felix likes this
Felix Atlassian Team Jan 29, 2021

 will shared card and button usage always count to the individual?


On a board that is not in a paid team, yes the quota will be taken from the member using the button, not the member who created the button.

On boards in paid teams, the quota is taken from the team's pooled quota.


Just borrowed two accounts to do a test. It confirms what you described. Thanks. Will put a note in the other post to read this.

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Community showcase
Published in Trello

📹 Favorite Trello templates

Hello Community!  My name is Brittany Joiner and I am a Trello enthusiast and Atlassian Community Leader. In this video, I'll share my favorite Trello templates. Templates mentioned in ...

3,635 views 25 63
Read article

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local event. Learn more about Community Events

Events near you