Can JIRA org admin force to apply a permission scheme to any newly created "team-managed" projects?

hichimi June 2, 2023

Hi, I am an admin of atlassian products in our company.

Recently, we had a couple cases that some teams invited external users to our Jira projects.

I had configured a default permission scheme where I replaced "Any logged in user" to the group which all of our internal users automatically join.

I recognized that those new external users still could view some projects where they were not supposed to have the permission, and figured out that those projects were all "team-managed" projects.

There is no "permissions" menu in the "Project setting" in those "team-managed" projects, but "Access" which do not provide the "permission scheme" settings.

Questions,

1. Do the "team-managed" projects offer a capability of this "permission scheme" configurations? If Yes, where can I change it?
  2. Can admin configure the default permission scheme for those "team-managed" projects?

Thanks!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 2, 2023

Team-managed projects do not use permission schemes, the access is handled in the roles and users settings for the project.

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 2, 2023

Adding to this...

More information can be found here:

https://support.atlassian.com/jira-software-cloud/docs/next-gen-permissions/

There are change requests for being able to set a default Access value for newly created Team Managed projects.

https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JRACLOUD-80472

https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSWCLOUD-18478