Why next-gen JIRA board is so slow?

Andrey_Antyufeev March 4, 2020

Hi guys, we have moved from Trello recently, and we are using JIRA next-gen. Is there an explanation why our JIRA is ridiculously slow when it comes to data loading, manipulation with cards, etc?

Is it only us, or it's a common thing? Our sprint board has around 70 cards, is it too much to ask?  

I'm afraid if we won't find a reason and a solution, we would have to move to another platform.

2 answers

3 votes
Jebble March 4, 2020

Jira has been slow for ages, don't expect it to get any better soon.

Andrey_Antyufeev March 4, 2020

This is just sad, I used JIRA in 2008/2009 and in 2013/2014 it was solid piece of technology. However, it was self-hosted... maybe that is a solution ? 

blim
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 4, 2020

@Andrey_Antyufeev Sorry to hear this. I’m a Product Manager working on improving Next-gen performance. Any more specifics you can share? Would be great to chat in person - drop me a line at Bryan.lim@atlassian.com if you’re interested.

Like # people like this
Jerrold Poh April 16, 2020

I experience this too.

For our project just the backlog alone takes 30-60 seconds to load before it becomes responsive and any operation e.g. clicking on a card to load in detail view, clicking on a field to edit or even saving takes anywhere between 3-10 seconds.

It's no better in the agile board view and forget about turning on image previews - scrolling becomes nearly impossible to do and dragging cards around is a no-go.

The only redeeming feature is the agile board automatically updates card statuses when other team members drag them around - which can't be said for the backlog view (which requires a refresh and yet another 30-60 seconds wait time + 3-10 seconds to load the card).

I've tried this in both Safari and Chrome and performance on either platform is no better on either.