"The reporter specified is not a user" error when creating issue via REST

Esther Strom March 20, 2019

I've seen answers here and here, but as far as I can tell I'm doing the same thing as the accepted answers indicate, and still getting this error.

I'm trying to create an issue via REST in Cloud. 

Here's what I'm sending through as the Body of the curl call:

{

"fields": {
"summary": "WhiteHat: test",
"issuetype": {
"id": "10041"
},
"customfield_10104": {"value":"$vId"},
"customfield_10105": {"value":"5"},
"customfield_10107": {"value":"www.mysite.com"},
"customfield_10108": {"value":"http://www.mysite.com/register"},
"customfield_10064": {"value":"Unknown"},
"customfield_10032": 14,

"project": {
"id": "10037"
},
"description": {
"type": "doc",
"version": 1,
"content": [
{
"type": "paragraph",
"content": [
{
"type": "text",
"text": "this is a test description"
}
]
}
]
},
"reporter": {
"name": "Jira Monkey"
}
}
}

Jira Monkey IS a valid user in our system, but I'm new to Cloud. In on-prem, we had very specific usernames, but in Cloud all I can do is invite a user by email address; they are able to change their display name on their own. So what am I supposed to use?

Here's Jira Monkey's profile card; it's a valid user with a valid email address. The user does have access to create issues (it's my test user). Note that I'm getting the same error when setting my own name as the reporter.

jiraMonkey.png 

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Jakub Sławiński
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 21, 2019

Hi @Esther Strom 

you should use username, not display name.

You can check the username when searching issues, i.e. after selecting the user you will see his name in the URL.

Screenshot from 2019-03-21 12-49-44.png

Esther Strom March 21, 2019