call external rest api using post function

Sneha Gole November 6, 2019

https://10.0.9.202/api/Engineering/Analysis/Validate?Plant=EAES&Partnumber=1310468W001

hi,, im new to jira  and i want to call above api with parameter Plant and Partnumber on transition  using post function . 

image.png

Basically what i want is when i click on tempvalidateRest transition ,Api should call and according to  Plant and Partnumber values or status should update in other application ..

for this i hvae created webhook  and call it on post function .. but the values are not updating ..plz help me with this image.png

1 answer

1 vote
Hana Kučerová
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 6, 2019

Hi @Sneha Gole

welcome to Atlassian Community!

Unfortunately, it is not possible to use your own variables (based on custom fields' values in issue) in webhook's url.

But I can image another approach could work for you.

Do you have Jira server or cloud?

If you have Jira server, I would recommend you to use ScriptRunner add-on and create post function with groovy script, which will take the values from the issue and use them to create url and body of the request.

Sneha Gole November 20, 2019

hiiiii @Hana Kučerová  I have remove custom fields ..now i have just create transition with none screen selected.

image.png

and i have set "  https://10.0.9.84:443/API/Engineering/Analysis/Validate?Plant=EAES&PartNumber=E171476Y001001  " url in webhook ..

when i check the log file its show like below

image.pngdoes it means  webhook  is sent from myside correctly ?

Hana Kučerová
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 22, 2019

Hi @Sneha Gole ,