Workflows and statuses

Hello,

I am new to Jira so please bare with me.

I have created a project that will include around 20 or so issues. I need a workflow for each issue as each issue is in reality a test case.

I was trying to create a Status named "Closed" as in Closed Test Case but i couldn't. I got a message that that status name was already used. In fact, it was already used but in a different workfow for a different project. That error made me reonsider my whole strategy!

First is it a good practice to create a different workflow for each issue?

Second, is there a way around having duplicate names for statuses? (as i wil have resolved and closed in every workflow)!!!

Thanks a bunch for the help

Nick

2 answers

This widget could not be displayed.

No, it's not a good practice.

Workflows are locked to issue TYPES, not issues. If you've got 20 issues in your project, 10 bugs and 10 features, then at most you'll be using 2 workflows - one for bugs and one for features.

20 workflows with 20 different test types and only 1 issue of each in a project is a bit of a mess really, it's going to be a nightmare to set up and maintain, and won't really gain you much.

I'd step back and re-evaluate your requirements here. What are you really trying to achieve?

Although, one quick point - reusing a status is not an issue, multiple workflows all with one "Close" status is absolutely fine.

Perfect Thanks a lot.

I did actually re-evaluate my requirements. I have a better understanding of workflows now.

I won't bother with them anymore as the test cases would be executed and it's either they stay "unresolved" or the QA analyst will just click on "Done" if the test is a pass.

That would the job for me.

Any special strategy i should folow when using JIRA for softwre testing??

SO far i would create a project, then issues (test cases) in that project then i would assign thoses issues to different people.

that sounds fine to you?