Who gets assigned when issue has multiple components?

Mark Cassman April 23, 2022

There are several different answers to this question all over the internet but even here at Atlassian. 

On the cloud, if an issue has multiple components, and each component has someone different as the default assignee, who gets the assignment? One section of Atlassian says that it goes alphabetically, but another says it goes by the first component entered into the system. So which is it. Could someone please elaborate on this issue more? 

I'm studying for the ACP-620 certification and this is a small area that keeps giving me trouble. Thanks.

2 answers

4 votes
Fabian Lim
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 23, 2022

Hi @Mark Cassman

This is a tricky one for the exams. It's alphabetical if all components have a component lead assigned.

If you have component "a" which is set to unassigned and the component "b" with a component lead, it will assign it to the user in component b.

Best way is to try it yourself or take the cert prep course which explains in detail.

Joanna Thurmann
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 25, 2022

Jira uses the following rules when assigning issues during issue creation.

1. If the reporter selects an assignee, then the issue is assigned to that person regardless of the assignee settings at the project or component level.

2. If the reporter leaves the assignee as Automatic, then Jira checks if any components were added.

3. If no, then Jira assigns the issue to the default assignee at the project level; which is either Unassigned or Project Lead.