What is the order of operations in JQL?

Rob Horan
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 30, 2020

I have been looking through the documentation, but I haven't found an actual reference defining the order of operations.

I am studying for ACP-120

Is there a reference that clearly lays this out?

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Florian
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 30, 2020

I hope I understand you question correctly and you want to know the operator precedence. If so then the answer is quiet easy. It’s the same as in almost every other language. The AND operator has a stronger binding as the OR operator. So as in normal algebra where a * b + c is (a * b) + c and a * (b * c) is (a * b) + (a * c) you can translate these rules into Boolean algebra. This mean a and b or c is (a and b) or c whilst a and (b or c) is actually (a and b) or (a and c). For the variables a, b and c you can use any kind of comparison like project = myproject. 

if you want to know more about it see https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boolean_algebra

I hope this what you wanted to know. 

Rob Horan
Rising Star
Rising Star
August 30, 2020

Hello, and thank you, and apologies for the long reply,

I am looking first and foremost for something that is explicitly defined for JQL.  Why?  Because I'm set to take the ACP-120 soon and I feel like I'm about to be out some money and a few hours of my life for a big fat F.  Having taken 100 (unsuccessfully) and 600 (successfully) I can tell you that the JQL questions are the toughest and most unnecessarily tricky of all.