What is the impact of raising a spike to sprint burndown chart?

Ahmad Fikhri Bin Dakhirrudin July 12, 2023

Hello,

I am new to JIRA. Me and my squads has been raising user story as "Story" but I noticed that for story that requires investigation or research before delivering the actual story, we can raise it as "spike". 

I have never tried this so I would like to ask the community if you know whether it will have any impact on my burndown chart if we are unable to finish the "spike" story in 1 sprint?

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 12, 2023

Hi @Ahmad Fikhri Bin Dakhirrudin and welcome to the Community!

Whether a spike impacts your burndown chart or not is all down to the almighty power you have when organising your team's work.

Your burndown chart burns down something - when you define stories, very often that will be story points. If you estimate your spike in story points (or if you use something else to estimate your stories in - the same estimation statistic as your stories), this will indeed be included in your burndown chart.

In agile practice, spikes are usually time-boxed experiments to validate an idea. They do not deliver actual value to your customer, but help you validate an idea. So if you add the estimate in time to the original estimate field of a spike and estimate your stories in story points, your spike will not impact the burndown chart directly. Of course, the time spent on running the spike is time you cannot spend on developing stories and so - indirectly - you will possible be able to deliver fewer stories in a sprint.

Hope this helps!