What are the authorization options for webhooks?

Fabian Huck January 18, 2023

I have created a connection based on webhooks between a system and my Jira environment. Whenever something is created in the external system, this information is sent to Jira via a post request and also created there (automation rules).

As there are security rules I am looking for a solution to make the webhook more secure. Is it possible to create an authorization process underneath cryptographic security mechanisms. Maybe with mathematical operations?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Darryl Lee
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 22, 2023

Wow this is a great question.

I am by no means a cryptographic expert, so I googled it and found this:

I suppose you could implement a token authentication system using web requests, but it hurts my head to think about.

I think the most feasible approach would be to do some kind of Signature verification although Jira smart values for math do not unfortunately include any kind of hashing functionality.

I wonder if it would be sufficient (but certainly not completely foolproof) to do something like: 

{{#=}}{{created.format("yyyyMMdd").asNumber}} + {{summary.length}} * 1337{{/}}

(Where you would choose COMPLETELY DIFFERENT fields, calculations and "salt" values)

And then on your system, you would replicate generation of that "Auth Signature" value and include it in the data payload of your webhook POST to Jira, where your Automation rule could then calculate it and see if it matches.

So I guess compare:

{{webhookData.authSignature}}

To:

{{#=}}{{webhookData.created.format("yyyyMMdd").asNumber}} * {{webhookData.summary.length}} + 1337{{/}}